The start of any journey starts with a single step, in my case I like to learn as much as I can about a topic before I dive head first into something I may not be quite equipped to take on.

I’ve had a thought for some time that I would like to own an EV. I’ve been following the OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) for quite awhile the likes of Tesla, Nissan Leaf, Mitsubishi iMiev, Holden (GM) and others just to see where this EV thing may lead.

Thus far they all seem to be quite on the expensive side at least here in Australia. A Tesla S in Oz depending on your state and the various taxes imposed, say around $100,000 for base model, Holden Volt $69,990, Mitsubishi iMiev $48,800. There are others but let’s say these are the closest to my pay packet.

Ok so they all look nice, except the iMiev, I don’t quite know what to make of it design wise but that’s beside the point others might just love it and beauty is in the eye’s of the beholder. The point really is all of these vehicles are outside my budget considerably, unless Mr Musk decides to give me one, and I think not much chance of that.

So what’s my alternative? Build my own. Get myself a donor car, work out how it’s done, buy the parts and put them together. To quote a famous car enthusiast “How hard can it be”.

Well it turns out a bit like this. The basic principles are really easy to grasp, the technical aspects not so much. Let me put it this way. I can read and write but mathematically I’m illiterate and there is quite a bit of mathematics in those darn EV conversions.

You can buy a book or two on the topic, I did but Here is a link to Jack Rickards EVTV explanation. Now I know Jack may not always stay on topic but Jack knows what he’s talking about and it even makes sense to me, sort of, I’ll need to watch the segment a few times myself.

EVTV Friday Show – January 2, 2015

http://youtu.be/DO-L9msp1gE

Now if you go to Jacks blog link below he has provided a spreadsheet to download and a catalogue of parts be careful about 220mb. I’ll need to modify this to metric but that should be relatively easy.

http://evtv.me/2015/01/kingdom-dorito-methinks/

Thanks to Jack for the explanation.

Books on the topic.

I’m currently reading two books on the topic which both have kindle versions I can use on the iPad.

The Electric Vehicle Conversion Handbook
Warner, Mark, PE
esbn: 978-1-101-51579-2
Penguin Group
Kindle Version

Build Your Own Electric Vehicle
Leitman, Seth; Brant, Bob
Isbn: 978-0-07-177057-6
McGraw Hill Education
Kindle Version

That all from me today next time Donor Cars and my dilemma finding a suitable vehicle in Oz.

